discussions of various subjects - emphasis on food and recipes, travel, art, gardening

=,=`==ivy==`=,=

forum guidelines . eyeglasses  disclaimer - read me . recipes from our kitchen . blog from our kitchen 

how to put a Webster's Online Dictionary search box on your site

etherwork.net
discussions of various subjects - emphasis on food and recipes, travel, art, gardening

Register Log in Log in to check your private messages FAQ Memberlist Search Usergroups etherwork.net Forum Index

Lawn Addiction

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    etherwork.net Forum Index » anything and everything (within reason) - archive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mats
registered

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jul, 2008 10:43 am    Post subject: Lawn Addiction Reply with quote

Some years ago when I worked as an urban planner I conducted a small and ineffective campaign against the ubiquitous use of lawns in all landscaping schemes. It was ineffective because mowed lawns were considered essential by almost every property owner, whether industrial or residential. The amount of labour, land, water and chemicals devoted to lawns in North America is astronomical (around $40 billion!).
David Quammen has written "Turf Wars" in an attempt to stem the madness. Here is a summary from the New Yorker: newyorker.com: Turf War by Elizabeth Kolbert

David
registered

Slogan:

Peripheral Visionary

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jul, 2008 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote